top of page

Over 50? 60? Difficult to find a likable class ?

Particularly if you are over 50, 60, 70 or 80 you may be looking desperately for a fitness class that isn't about weight lifting, fashion statements or complex street dance? I understand - really I do!

Have you perhaps tried over 50s fitness" and find cardigans and crimpoline, tired boring music and box steps? Yes I've done that! Then I was lucky, I stumbled on a Nia class at 53.

Worldwide for 35 years (but, by ethos, not highly promoted), for me, Nia fits the bill. Its great if you are uncoordinated, has glorious music and is absorbing and friendly. Yes I teach it now and I would like you to try a class with me soon, as it is great for feeling so much fitter and happier. whatever your fitness level -- or age! Read more on my website -- especially don;t mis 'Why Do Nia'.

Nia is a kind to the body fitness class with a health and wellness practice behind it - The Nia Technique. In my classes I have all ages from 20 to 80+, all moving at their own level in 'their body's way'. Its ideal if you have a few aches and pains and want to get moving; get more agile and more supple and work on your coordination, but it also works if you want to loose weight and get your heart rate up. Nia is definately not 'just' for over 50s, many younger people appreciate as isustainable, pleasurable, mindful and effective fitness. Its just that, in my opinion, there is very little on offer, of high quality, and appealing for those of us who no longer want to be "gym bunnies".

The key is: we move for pleasure - fitness is a by-product.

And the music -- ah the music -- it is from haunting flute, through to jazz, tribal beats through to soulful vocals and is from all over the world. Ideally we move barefoot but soft shoes, socks or trainers are an option. Over the weeks you pick up the Nia '52 Moves' which will make your movement even easier, more pleasurable and more effective towards fitness in class.

Typically we like to do Nia barefoot for its many benefits, but you are welcome to wear clean soft shoes, socks or trainers - thats absolutely fine (some of my venues are Yoga studios which require the shoes to be indoor or very clean shoes).

One of the reasons you may not have heard about Nia is that it is so hard to describe; similar to Yoga in this respect - different Nia Teachers bring different vibes or slants to their Nia class and will describe and emphasise different things. That is why you will see lots of very different Nia classes on video. However all Nia Teachers deliver the Nia promise of 'Music, Movement, Magic' and sustainable fitness following 'The Body's Way' (the natural design of the body).

We move differently in a Nia class, it isn't aerobics or dance without shoes on, but when you watch it on video it is very hard to see the difference. One of my students recently said to me 'it doesn't translate'. We move differently in class, it feels different - thats all I can say, you do need to try it to see.

In a nutshell I describe Nia as 'mindful fitness to glorious music for any age ability or fitness level'. I hope that helps and that you will try it!

Step in to Nia with Susan at a daytime class in Stirling, Perth or Dunblane or find more Nia locally or worldwide at www.nianow.com.

A Scottish Nia Class Susan - Nia Teacher - Stirling, Perth, Dunblane


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page